Tanzania is located in East Africa, just south of the equator and bordered by the Indian Ocean to the east, Kenya and Uganda to the north, Mozambique to the south, and Rwanda, Burundi, DR Congo, Zambia, and Malawi to the west.

Tanzania was formed in 1964 as a union between Tanganyika and Zanzibar, which gained independence from the UK in 1961 and 1963 respectively.  The capital, Dodoma, is centrally located in the country and is the seat of Government. The largest city and main seaport, Dar es Salaam, is located on the Indian Ocean coast. Dar es Salaam also functions as the seaport for countries to the west of Tanzania, accessed via the Tanzanian Highway which passes 35km east of the licence area. The population in 2020 was estimated at 58 million.

Tanzania is famous for its outstanding natural beauty, which attracts large crowds of visitors to its famous national parks, Mount Kilimanjaro and the islands of Zanzibar, Pemba, and Mafia.

Tanzania’s legal system is based on English Common Law, and the country has a well-established mining and natural resources industry. Tanzania is Africa’s fourth largest gold producer and has significant offshore natural gas exploration, with reserves estimated to be in excess of 47 trillion cubic feet. Natural resource companies operating in Tanzania include numerous multinationals, including AngloGold Ashanti, Barrick Gold and Shanta Gold, which extract precious metals, gemstones, oil and gas, among others.

Be a part of the future of helium